Hypersynth Forum

Newbie to Miniak editor

General discussions related to Miniak-editor

Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby hnash53 » Sat Mar 03, 2012 1:44 am

I just bought the Miniak editor, but am unable to control the synth through the editor.

I have the editor running on my laptop. I am using a Behringer USB/Audio interface into which I have R & L audio cables from the Miniak. Then I have RCA cables running out of the USB/Audio interface into my amplifier. The USB cable is connected to my laptop.

I am using Audacity as the recording software. It "sees" the USB/Audio codec and I can record whatever I play on the synth. The USB/Audio interface allows "audio" to come into my laptop, but not MIDI.... and I'm guessing that is the problem.

However, the Miniak editor isn't "seeing" the synth, because when I try to "request a patch", the message pops up saying "No Miniak available."

I'm guessing that I don't have any MIDI connections coming into my laptop. I am very unfamiliar with MIDI and don't know how/what to do at this point.

I want to be able to use the editor to tweak the patches/presets/programs (whatever you want to call them), adjust ADSR, etc. But at this point, the editor isn't seeing the Miniak... and I'm sure it's a MIDI thing.

So.... can someone help me out here? I'd really appreciate a reply... and one that considers that I am a newbie to MIDI.

Many thanks.

Hal
hnash53
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:53 pm

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby Iman_JL » Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:04 am

You need at least a MIDI interface with one input and one output port to get it working.
User avatar
Iman_JL
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 7:53 am

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby hnash53 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:46 pm

I purchased a USB to MIDI interface cable. It has a USB at one end which plugs into my laptop. At the other end, are two male MIDI cables, one labelled OUT and the other IN. I plugged the USB into my laptop, and the MIDI ends into the Minak's MIDI OUT and IN ports.

I then opened up the Miniak Hypersynth Editor, and at the bottom of the screen selected the USB-MIDI for MIDI OUT and MIDI IN.

I still cannot use the Editor. I can't adjust any of the settings. When I try to "Request Patch," the message pops up "No Miniak Available."

The cable has two lights on it... one at the USB end, and a light at the MIDI end. The USB is lit up, but the MIDI light is not.

HELP HELP HELP!!!

If I can't get this to work, the Miniak is pretty much useless to me, so I'd really appreciate some intelligible replies to help me out.

Thanks.

Hal
hnash53
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:53 pm

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby hnash53 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:43 pm

OK, well I've got "some control" now.

I can adjust some things using the editor now, but still, when I press "request patch" the message pops up saying "No Miniak available."

So, can anyone help me out to figure out how to be able to call up a patch from one of the MIDI banks?

Thanks again.

Hal
hnash53
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:53 pm

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby galneon » Fri Mar 23, 2012 8:39 am

You only have a one-way MIDI connection... I'm willing to bet one of your MIDI connectors is hooked up to the MIDI THRU of your synth.

Don't worry, everyone's done it before...
galneon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:33 am

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby Lucifa » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:26 pm

I'm also having the same issue with regards to "No Miniak available." My MIDI cables are set up correctly.

It works sporadically, but I seem to have little control over when it'll receive a patch and when not.

Is there an idiots guide to sending patches? A step-by-step walkthrough of how the process is done, maybe I'm missing something.

I've managed to send and edit patches with the editor, so I imagine everything is at least set-up right.

Appreciate any help, cheers.
Lucifa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:14 am

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby Iman_JL » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:17 pm

It works sporadically, but I seem to have little control over when it'll receive a patch and when not.


Try with a different MIDI interface.

Is there an idiots guide to sending patches? A step-by-step walkthrough of how the process is done, maybe I'm missing something.


We are building a new manual it will be published with upcoming release v2.2. For now if you need more detailed info and step by step tutorials please refer to the new ion-editor manual and follow the instructions in Micron mode:

http://www.hypersynth.com/download/ion- ... l_rev6.pdf
User avatar
Iman_JL
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 7:53 am

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby Lucifa » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:28 pm

Iman_JL wrote:
It works sporadically, but I seem to have little control over when it'll receive a patch and when not.


Try with a different MIDI interface.

Is there an idiots guide to sending patches? A step-by-step walkthrough of how the process is done, maybe I'm missing something.


We are building a new manual it will be published with upcoming release v2.2. For now if you need more detailed info and step by step tutorials please refer to the new ion-editor manual and follow the instructions in Micron mode:

http://www.hypersynth.com/download/ion- ... l_rev6.pdf


Thanks, that guide is what I was after.

Unfortunately I'm not able to afford a new interface. Although the one I have is second hand so I'm not writing it off as being the issue.

Cheers
Lucifa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:14 am

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby Lucifa » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:08 pm

Now I'm really confused. The Miniak responds appropriately when using the external mod wheels on the editor (pitch up/down), and there's definite MIDI out signal on my interface when i try to save a patch, but it's just not recognising it.

I have a few other MIDI devices, and my Miniak is assigned to MIDI port 3 (IN) and 4 (OUT). Could this be an issue?
Lucifa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:14 am

Re: Newbie to Miniak editor

Postby Iman_JL » Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:42 am

It can be your MIDI interface that filters out or rejects some parts of the MIDI message, I know that the MOTU interfaces has a serious problem with Miniak sysex messages but it transmits NRPN and CC properly. What is your interface Model and brand?

I have a few other MIDI devices, and my Miniak is assigned to MIDI port 3 (IN) and 4 (OUT). Could this be an issue?


seems normal.
User avatar
Iman_JL
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 7:53 am

Next

Return to Miniak-editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron